Posted by: Rachel | March 15, 2011

Jehovah’s Witnesses and me

This morning I heard a car coming in the driveway and when I saw that it was that red SUV my heart sank down into the depths of my soul. No it wasn’t the tax collector, this was even worse. It was the Jehovah’s Witness lady. Now I know many of you probably have the guts to say “No thank you, I don’t want your literature” I just can’t get it said. I know you are laughing, you think me who says whatever’s on my mind would straight up tell that woman to get off my property. Maybe if I would have done it the first time she came it would have been easier. But now she knows me, it’s kinda like some weird friend that I don’t want. I mean, she knows the dog’s name, she knows how many children we have and so on, so how am I supposed to say “No, I don’t want your magazine, I’m perfectly fine with my church”

But the more important question is how should I handle those who are witnessing for their religion. I don’t like when people invade my personal space by knocking on my door and thinking that I should be just thrilled to see them and their religious propaganda. And yet I know that our church will sometimes go to Reading and hand out pamphlets. So far I have not participated in those activities for many different reasons. I don’t like the idea of going into some city and saying “here, take this, learn about God and Jesus, be saved, thank you goodbye, I’m gonna go home now and probably never see you again.” If I really want to introduce somebody to Christ I feel that I should actually be involved in their lives. Handing out tracts seems like a cop-out, like I did my good deed and told someone the Gospel and yippee I didn’t even get my hands dirty, now I’m gonna go back home to my home in the country and think how nice I have it that I don’t have to live in Reading amidst all the yuck.

I am most definitely not saying that anyone who does go hand out tracts is not doing it for all the right reasons. I admire people who can do that.

I wish there was a Do Not Call list for Jehovah’s Witnesses. So tell me, what is your Jehovah’s Witness story or are you lucky enough to never be visited by them?

Responses

  1. This is great to see you blogging! Only one time have I ever had a visit by a Jehovah’s Witness. I didn’t have time to talk and she could see it. I had three crying small ones hanging onto me! Their zeal does truly inspire me.

  2. I don’t recall ever having a Jehovah’s witness show up at our door. I think I faintly remember turning some away once when I had a little baby and toddler to take care of. Soon after we were married we did have some Mormons stop by our house. We were naive and didn’t know what the Church of Latter Day Saints was until they were in our living room and we saw their little black books that said “The Book of Mormon”. I don’t remember anything of our conversation but they haven’t been back.

  3. Amen. they never visit me so either I am of less importance or lucky indeed. good interesting writing! blogs are always interesting. by blogging one can inspire and broaden the horizons of thinking for many people

  4. They visit us (the Mormons on their missions too) and we don’t answer the door. I will go to great lengths to see who’s at my door before answering it. Is there a window or peep hole you can see from? Sometimes I’m well aware that they could see me through the window, or hear me walking around inside my house, but i still don’t answer. It’s easier to be rude that way than to be rude face to face. If I have to though, I’ll just say “I’m sorry, we really aren’t interested.” as nicely as possible while closing the door.

    • I would love to be able to check before answering but we have a huge window facing the driveway and more often than not one of the the children will look out there and give it away that someone is home. And if they know that I know they are there I just feel weird. Wish I had the nerve to just ignore them šŸ™‚

  5. I have a couple JW friends, one quick way to get put on their do not call list is if you start evangelizing to them. Tell them you’ll go with them to their church if they first go with you to your church. They are really scared of visiting other peoples churches.
    You were over at my blog this morning, so now I’m going through your archives. I would guess you live “across the 23” am I right? šŸ™‚

    • I shall have to try that with the JWs. I always have these big ideas about how I’m going to tell them not to come back but then I wimp out.
      And about ‘across the 23’, yes we live north of 23, in the Ephrata area. As a child we lived south of 23, Ronks area, and I am ever so thankful not to live there now. Such an awful touristy hub-bub šŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

