Posted by: Rachel | June 23, 2011

Life’s a beach

Just a week ago I was in the middle of a week of teaching summer bible school. Every evening when we’d come home Delilah would stay up until midnight and so I’d sleep in in the morning. And once I finally awoke from my sleep I’d try to get some things done before it was time to leave for church again.

What a difference a week makes. Now I’m on vacation and I sit around, talk with the other people at the house, go to Jungle Jim’s and practice my swing at the batting cages, and watch the guys racing around in go-carts. I stroll the boardwalk looking for a bookstore and saltwater taffy. One evening Earl and I took a ride on the moped out to the outlets. Basically, I’m doing what I want, and not doing what I don’t want to do. My batteries are recharging, which is good, cause they were getting low with the energy that life requires.

I’ve never been a big beach fan. It’s too hot and I don’t like sand in everything. So even though we are ‘at the beach’ I’ve only gone out on the beach once. But one night some of the others wanted to go down and run on the beach and I decided to walk down with them. Delilah wasn’t sleeping and I thought maybe if I push her in the stroller she’d go in to the happy world that is dreamland. Once we got to the boardwalk I sat on a bench with my sleeping baby beside me in the stroller while the others went on their midnight beach run.

It was one of those moments that makes you feel very insignificant. The waves were crashing in on the sand. Loud rolling waves.  A huge glowing orange moon was shining through the hazy clouds right about the horizon line. And the waves kept coming, like clockwork, and you knew that they would continue forever and ever. The waves have been beating at the sand since the beginning and no matter what happens in our lives, in the world around us, the water will still roll in.

I could go on about the wonder of life and how somethings keep changing while others stay the same. I could say some nice words about recharging the batteries of life.

I could but I won’t.

Because I’m on vacation.

Wish you were here!

 

Responses

  1. Yes, hoping you can fully recharge! God’s creation is wonderful and awesome to observe.

    Carolyn


Leave a Reply

Categories

