Posted by: Rachel | October 21, 2013

Things that happen in this house

This morning there was a sock shortage in the Martin house. Rhiannon told me ‘just don’t make her (Alaina) wear black socks.’ When I asked her what is wrong with black socks she said she hates black socks. When we wondered why she hates black socks, she replied that well, she doesn’t hate black socks but how it looks when people wear black socks. Alaina piped up with her words of wisdom: ‘According to the comics wearing black makes you look skinnier, so maybe that’s why people wear black socks.’ I think that I may need to inform my children that while in this case the comics was correct, it is not necessarily the place to be getting factual information.

****

Lately Delilah has started drawing pictures. She showed me her latest creation and I said, Oh, you made pretty trees, and who’s that, is that you? And then I looked closer and wouldn’t you know it, the ‘trees’ were actually people. They were mom and dad, to be exact. Our legs were long skinny things that looked like a tree trunk and then we had giant round heads. Our eyes and nose looked like apples. We had no body but luckily we did have arms.

****

Delilah was playing with an electronic ABC game. As I was showing her where the C was I accidentally pressed the off button. I said ‘oops I’m sorry I turned it off.’  She gasped and said ‘You so mean.’

****

In other news, the little man of the house will be celebrating his first birthday this week.

Walking through the obstacle course, otherwise known as a hallway.

Walking through the obstacle course, otherwise known as a hallway.

He is a boy on the move. He likes going up and down the stairs, but I try to have a big sister watching him while he does that. Yesterday he was at the top of the stairs and somehow tripped. When I arrived at the scene he was on his stomach with his feet at the top of the stairs and his head down two steps. He was holding on somehow, someway. He has the strength of bears, it would seem.

My blue-eyed boy

My blue-eyed boy

He still hates his crib. Sometimes he’ll stay sleeping in it for 30 minutes but usually only five minutes. But if he’s in my bed then he can sleep for hours. When Earl comes home from work I often step outside on the porch with Atticus. He gets all excited when he sees the truck. Earl will open the window and Atticus eagerly reaches for him and then he goes with his daddy to park the truck. If Earl’s lunch or thermos is on the floor Atticus will pick them up and take them to where ever Earl is.

****

The Martin Household has now been alive and well for 10 years. Of course we had to make some jokes about not thinking we would ever make it this long 🙂 We went out to eat to celebrate and started talking about how much things have changed in the last ten years. Even in the last five. On our fifth anniversary we had two children, still drove the green Ford Focus, and lived in the trailer. Now we have four children, drive a minivan, and are making mortgage payments.

In ten more years Alaina will be 19, Rhiannon 17, Delilah 13, and Atticus 10. That is absolutely scary beyond words. We wondered about where we will live, what we will work, and who our friends will be in 10 years. Even scarier, what will we look like? At first I thought it might be fascinating to see that future life, but the more I thought about it I realized that I need to enjoy this time right now and here. I hate to even think it, but our parents are getting older and it is a real possibility that in ten years we may not still have all our parents. I have quite a few friends that have lost a parent and it terrifies me.

****

Maybe in ten years we will live in New York. We made our annual Grape Juice trek to the Finger Lakes last weekend. Earl’s brother always has some new business idea for Earl. One year he thought that he could start trimming cow’s hooves. He even said that the one Hoof Trimmer’s wife helps with the nasty task. Now you must know that I find cows to be ugly even on the face side of things, but if you would flip them on their sides and look at the hooves that would add a whole layer of unpleasant to my life. But there was a shortage of Hoof Trimmers and so that was the Brother’s grand idea. This year there seems to be a shortage of Dairy Barn Equipment Service Men Or Something Official Sounding Like That. Earl thought that fixing air compressors and stuff like that sounds much better than trimming hooves. I agreed very readily.

Also housing is incredibly cheap in that area of NY. A house in the town of Dundee is listed at $80k whereas a similar house in our neighborhood would probably go for $150k or more. I guess there needs to be someway to attract Hoof Trimmers to the area and cheap real estate might be the trick.

The Finger Lakes region is absolutely gorgeous this time of year.

Sunrise over the Seneca Lake

Sunrise over the Seneca Lake

Love love love the morning sun on the trees.

Love love love the morning sun on the trees.

More pretty trees

More pretty trees

Big blue sky peeking through the colorful leaves.

Big blue sky peeking through the colorful leaves.

Leave a Reply

Categories

